Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)

Would you like to integrate BLE technology into your IoT solutions? We explain how this standard wireless communication protocol works.

bluetooth-device_shipments

What is Bluetooth Low Energy?

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), also known as Bluetooth smart, is a wireless communication technology designed to create private networks (PANs), enabling connections to be established between connected objects and gateways (smartphone, PC, access point) to collect a wide range of data.

This variant of “classic” Bluetooth has been designed to offer the lowest possible energy consumption, which has greatly contributed to its development in the industrial connected object market. Among other things, this technical specificity considerably extends the autonomy of connected objects by reducing their activity time.

Because of the way it works, Bluetooth Low Energy is better suited to industrial applications than “conventional” Bluetooth. Many industrial use cases do not require high transmission recurrence, or the transmission of heavy or complex information.

Embedded in wireless sensors and beacons, this open communication protocol will facilitate the collection of data such as temperature, ambient humidity, door opening detection, movement or even an identification number.

Discover our range of Bluetooth beacons and industrial sensors.

Discover our range of Bluetooth beacons and industrial sensors.

Bluetooth beacons Vs Bluetooth sensors

To collect data using Bluetooth Low Energy technology, manufacturers rely on network infrastructures in which connected objects such as beacons or sensors are used.

Bluetooth Beacon

A Bluetooth beacon is a small wireless beacon, similar to a badge, whose role is to emit a unique identification number called a UUID (Universal Unique Identifier) at regular intervals. BLE beacons can be used in a wide range of applications involving identification, automatic inventory and tracking:

Bluetooth sensor

An industrial Bluetooth sensor is a wireless sensor for measuring and collecting a wide range of environmental data. A Bluetooth sensor can be used in a wide range of sectors to digitalize business processes, improving performance and safety:

Automatic inventory of pallets, spare parts, etc.

Tracking equipment on a construction site, in a warehouse, in a vehicle…

Identification of drivers, passengers,…

Identification of trailers, tippers, etc.

Building and site access control,…

Protecting goods and equipment against theft

Predictive and preventive maintenance

Cold chain traceability

Workspace occupancy measurement

Managing building energy consumption

Bluetooth Beacon

A Bluetooth beacon is a small wireless beacon, similar to a badge, whose role is to emit a unique identification number called a UUID (Universal Unique Identifier) at regular intervals. BLE beacons can be used in a wide range of applications involving identification, automatic inventory and tracking:

Identification of trailers, tippers, etc.

Building and site access control,…

Identification of drivers, passengers,…

Tracking equipment on a construction site, in a warehouse, in a vehicle…

Automatic inventory of pallets, spare parts, etc.

Bluetooth sensor

An industrial Bluetooth sensor is a wireless sensor for measuring and collecting a wide range of environmental data. A Bluetooth sensor can be used in a wide range of sectors to digitalize business processes and improve performance and safety:

 

Protecting goods and equipment against theft

Predictive and preventive maintenance

Workspace occupancy measurement

Cold chain traceability

Managing building energy consumption

Why choose BLE?

If you’re looking for a wireless communication technology that offers range flexibility while maintaining low power consumption, BLE is the ideal solution for your IoT needs.

 

Reduced energy consumption

If you’re looking for a wireless communication technology that offers range flexibility while maintaining low power consumption, BLE is the ideal solution for your IoT needs.

 

Adaptive range

BLE offers a flexible range that can be adjusted according to the needs of the application. You can have a range from a few meters to several tens of meters, allowing it to be adapted to specific use scenarios.

Connectivity and interoperability

BLE has numerous standard profiles that define how devices should communicate for specific use cases, making it compatible with a wide range of devices, from smartphones to IoT sensors, facilitating interoperability between all devices.

Enhanced safety

BLE security protocols ensure that your data is protected during transmission. You can be confident of the confidentiality of your information, even in sensitive environments.

How does Bluetooth Low Energy work?

Bluetooth Low Energy technology enables bidirectional data exchange using UHF radio waves, and operates in the ISM frequency range from 2.400 GHz to 2.483 GHz. 40 channels spaced 2 MHz apart are allocated to BLE to enable devices to communicate.

BLE has different types of connection, and any BLE-connected object can have up to 4 different functions:

  • Broadcaster : its role is to regularly transmit data to a device, but it does not accept any incoming connections. It can also act as a server.
  • The observer : in this context, the object can only listen to and interpret data sent by a broadcaster. It cannot send connections to the server.
  • Central : receives and processes files sent by a broadcaster.
  • The peripheral: Takes over connections from the central unit, before transferring files to it.
Fonctionnement Bluetooth Low Energy

Do you have an IoT project?

Our experts can advise and support you in your choice of Bluetooth sensors and beacons.

Do you have an IoT project?

Our experts can advise and support you in your choice of Bluetooth sensors and beacons.

What does a BLE network infrastructure consist of?

A BLE network infrastructure will be based on a set of beacons and/or Bluetooth sensors, a gateway (access point, smartphone, PC, tracker, etc.), a back-end (server/cloud) and a business application.

Mockup-gateway-PC

Connected objects will transmit their ID numbers and/or sensor data at regular intervals. The BLE gateway will continuously scan and listen to its environment, detecting beacons and IoT sensors within its perimeter. It will collect the information and transfer it to the customer’s server/cloud, either via Ethernet, WiFi or 4G. On the back-end, raw data is stored, processed and analyzed.

Once the data has been deciphered, it can be visualized on the business application in the form of a history, graph or map. Commands can also be sent to beacons and sensors from the business application, such as the LED ON/OFF functionality.

What is the range of the BLE?

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) signal range is one of the key features of this wireless communication technology. Range determines the maximum distance over which a BLE device can establish a connection and communicate with another device, such as a smartphone, sensor or accessory. Here are some important points to understand about BLE signal range:

Typical range

BLE signal range varies according to several factors, including the device’s power class, the environment, obstacles and radio interference. In general, however, typical BLE range is between 10 and 100 meters. At short distances, the range can be very short (a few meters), while at long distances, it can reach 100 meters or more.

Power classes

BLE devices are generally classified into three power categories: Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3. Class 1 offers the maximum range, up to over 100 meters. Class 2 is common for BLE devices such as smartphones, offering a typical range of around 10 meters. Class 3 is rare, offering a range limited to a few meters.

Environment and obstacles

The environment has a significant impact on the range of BLE. Physical obstacles, such as walls, furniture and metal elements, can attenuate the signal and reduce range. Open outdoor environments generally provide greater range than cluttered indoor environments.

Radio interference

Interference from other wireless devices or Wi-Fi networks can disrupt the BLE range. In environments where numerous wireless signal sources coexist, range may be affected.

Specific implementation

Actual range may vary depending on how BLE is implemented in a particular device. Some manufacturers integrate more powerful antennas to increase range, while others may prioritize low power consumption at the expense of range.

Applications

BLE’s range is suitable for many IoT applications, including personal monitoring, proximity sensors, object trackers, wearable devices, keyless locking systems, and many others.

Difference between Bluetooth Low Energy and classic Bluetooth?

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) is a variant of Bluetooth Classic that has been part of the standard since version v4.0 was published in 2010. These two wireless communication protocols share the same origin, but their characteristics, functionalities and fields of application are very different.

Energy consumption

Because of its higher power consumption, conventional Bluetooth is commonly used on devices powered by a constant energy source, such as electrical outlets or larger batteries.

Bluetooth Low Energy, as its name suggests, is designed to be energy-efficient. It’s ideal for applications requiring long battery life, such as sensors, tracking devices and wearables.

Latency

Classic Bluetooth is designed for high-speed data transfer. It’s ideal for transmitting large files, such as streaming music and high-quality voice. However, it does require higher power consumption.

BLE is designed for small data transfers, but is effective for sending data periodically or in response to events. This makes it an ideal choice for low-speed monitoring and control.

Data transfer rate

BLE supports intermittent connections, where devices wake up, exchange data and go into standby mode to save energy. This approach is ideal for devices that don’t need a constant connection.

Classic Bluetooth, on the other hand, is often used for continuous connections, such as wireless audio streaming from a smartphone to headphones or a speaker. It is well suited to applications requiring constant data transmission.

Range

Generally speaking, the Bluetooth protocol is a proximity wireless technology. Conventional Bluetooth offers a range limited to a few meters (10 to 15m max.). Bluetooth Low Energy, on the other hand, offers a slightly longer range, reaching up to a few hundred meters in an open field.

In all cases, the environment in which Bluetooth beacons and sensors are used will have a strong impact on range. Indeed, their performance will be degraded by obstacles such as walls or metal beams.

In short, the main difference lies in power consumption and target applications. Conventional Bluetooth is suited to applications requiring continuous, high-speed data transmission, while BLE is designed for applications with low power consumption and sporadic data transfer. The choice between the two depends on your specific wireless communication needs.

Alternative technologies to BLE?

Wirepas_Vertical_Black_PNG

BLE vs Wirepas Mesh

Wirepas technology uses a mesh network, where each connected device can act as a relay for data, creating a self-organizing, resilient network. This allows great flexibility in network configuration. But unlike BLE, Wirepas is not standardized and open, focusing primarily on local connectivity, which means it is suited to applications requiring short-range communications in specific environments. For applications such as indoor tracking of people or tools, Wirepas technology will offer greater precision and responsiveness than BLE.

Logo Techno_Quuppa

BLE vs Quuppa

Quuppa technology is based on an infrastructure consisting of wired 360° antennas fixed at height and location beacons called “tags” embedded in the objects or people to be loalised. The main difference between BLE and Quuppa technology lies in the method used to calculate position. Quuppa is based on the AoA (Angle of Arrival) method, offering extremely accurate real-time localization (RTLS) (<1m), whereas BLE is based on the strength of the RSSI signal, enabling localization to within a few meters. The network infrastructure required to achieve this level of precision with Quuppa technology, however, may entail higher acquisition costs than with BLE. The choice between the two technologies will depend on the specific needs of the application and the levels of accuracy required.

Logo Wifi

BLE vs Wi-Fi

The choice between BLE and Wi-Fi in the IoT field depends on the specific needs of the application. BLE is ideal for low-power, short-range devices, while Wi-Fi is better suited to applications requiring higher data rates over greater distances. It is also possible to use these two technologies in a complementary way to meet the specific requirements of an IoT project. Bluetooth Low Energy technology is interoperable with existing Wi-Fi networks, making it easy to integrate, particularly for smart-building applications.

Boostez votre
projet de géolocalisation !

Plongez dans le monde des technologies de localisation : BLE, Wirepas et Quuppa. Optimisez vos processus & prises de décision

brochure-géolocalisation-indoor-outdoor-ELA-Innovation

ELA Innovation wishes you happy holidays!

Annual closure

December 25 to January 2, 2024

Inventory

January 2 to 5, 2024

Deliveries will resume from January 8, 2024.

Boost your
telematics project

Discover how to monitor, track and secure vehicle fleets using Bluetooth sensors and beacons.

brochure transport et télématique mockup

ELA Innovation • All rights reserved

Contactez-nous directement en utilisant le formulaire ou cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous pour faire une demande de devis :

Rechercher

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE)

Vous souhaitez intégrer la technologie BLE  à vos solutions IoT ? Nous vous expliquons le fonctionnement technique de ce protocole standard de communication sans fil.

bluetooth-device_shipments

Qu'est-ce que le Bluetooth Low Energy ?

Le Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) aussi appelé Bluetooth smart, est une technologie de communication sans fil conçue pour créer des réseaux privé (PAN) permettant d’établir des connexions entre des objets connectés et des passerelles (smartphone, PC, access point) afin de collecter de nombreuses données.

Cette variante du Bluetooth « classique » a été imaginée pour offrir une consommation d’énergie la plus faible possible ce qui a grandement contribuer à son développement sur le marché des objets connectés industriels. En effet, cette spécificité technique permet entre autres d’allonger considérablement l’autonomie des objets connectés en réduisant leur temps d’activité.

Par son fonctionnement, le Bluetooth Low Energy est plus adapté aux usages industriels que le Bluetooth dit « classique ». De nombreux cas d’utilisation industriels ne nécessitent pas une récurrence d’émission trop élevée, ni la transmission d’informations lourdes ou complexes.

Embarqué dans des capteurs et beacons sans fil, ce protocole de communication ouvert va faciliter la collecte de données telles que la température, l’humidité ambiante, la détection d’ouverture de portes, le mouvement ou encore un numéro identifiant.

Découvrez notre gamme de beacons et capteurs industriels Bluetooth.

Découvrez notre gamme de beacons et capteurs industriels Bluetooth.

Beacons Bluetooth Vs capteurs Bluetooth

Pour collecter les données grâce à la technologie Bluetooth Low Energy, les industriels s’appuient sur des infrastructures réseau dans lesquelles sont utilisés des objets connectés pouvant être des beacons identifiants ou des capteurs.

Beacon Bluetooth

Un beacon Bluetooth est une petite balise sans fil pouvant s’apparenter à un badge ayant pour rôle d’émettre à intervalles réguliers un numéro identifiant unique appelé UUID (Universal Unique Identifier). Les beacons BLE peuvent être utilisés dans de nombreux cas concrets liés à l’identification et l’inventaire automatique ou encore le tracking :

Capteur Bluetooth

Un capteur Bluetooth industriel est un capteur sans fil permettant de mesurer et collecter des données environnementales variées. Un capteur Bluetooth peut être utilisé dans de nombreux secteurs d’activités afin de digitaliser les processus des entreprises permettant d’en améliorer la performance et la sécurité :

Inventaire automatique de palettes, de pièces détachées, …

Tracking d’équipements sur un chantier, dans un entrepôt, un véhicule…

Identification des chauffeurs, des passagers,…

Identification de remorques, bennes,…

Contrôle d’accès des bâtiments et chantiers,…

Protection des marchandises et des équipements contre le vol

Maintenance prédictive et préventive

Traçabilité de la chaîne du froid

Mesure du taux d’occupation des espaces de travail

Gestion de la consommation énergétique des bâtiments

Beacon Bluetooth

Un beacon Bluetooth est une petite balise sans fil pouvant s’apparenter à un badge ayant pour rôle d’émettre à intervalles réguliers un numéro identifiant unique appelé UUID (Universal Unique Identifier). Les beacons BLE peuvent être utilisés dans de nombreux cas concrets liés à l’identification et l’inventaire automatique ou encore le tracking :

Identification de remorques, bennes,…

Contrôle d’accès des bâtiments et chantiers,…

Identification des chauffeurs, des passagers,…

Tracking d’équipements sur un chantier, dans un entrepôt, un véhicule…

Inventaire automatique de palettes, de pièces détachées, …

Capteur Bluetooth

Un capteur Bluetooth industriel est un capteur sans fil permettant de mesurer et collecter des données environnementales variées. Un capteur Bluetooth peut être utilisé dans de nombreux secteurs d’activités afin de digitaliser les processus des entreprises permettant d’en améliorer la performance et la sécurité :

Protection des marchandises et des équipements contre le vol

Maintenance prédictive et préventive

Mesure du taux d’occupation des espaces de travail

Traçabilité de la chaîne du froid

Gestion de la consommation énergétique des bâtiments

Pourquoi choisir le BLE ?

Si vous recherchez une technologie de communication sans fil qui offre la flexibilité de la portée tout en maintenant une faible consommation d’énergie, le BLE est la solution idéale pour vos besoins en matière d’IoT.

Consommation d'énergie réduite

Le BLE est conçu pour minimiser la consommation d’énergie, ce qui signifie que vos appareils peuvent fonctionner plus longtemps avec une seule batterie. Que ce soit pour des dispositifs de suivi, des capteurs intelligents, le BLE prolonge la durée de vie de la batterie.

Portée adaptative

Le BLE offre une portée flexible qui peut être ajustée en fonction des besoins de l’application. Vous pouvez avoir une portée allant de quelques mètres à plusieurs dizaines de mètres, ce qui permet de l’adapter aux scénarios d’utilisation spécifiques.

Connectivité et interopérabilité

Le BLE dispose de nombreux profils standards qui définissent comment les appareils doivent communiquer pour des cas d’utilisation spécifiques, ce qui le rend compatible avec une large gamme d’appareils, des smartphones aux capteurs IoT, ce qui facilite l’interopérabilité entre tous les périphériques.

Sécurité renforcée

Les protocoles de sécurité BLE garantissent que vos données sont protégées pendant la transmission. Vous pouvez avoir confiance en la confidentialité de vos informations, même dans des environnements sensibles.

Comment fonctionne le Bluetooth Low Energy ?

La technologie Bluetooth Low Energy permet l’échange bidirectionnel de données en utilisant des ondes radio UHF et opère dans la plage de fréquences ISM de 2,400 GHz à 2,483 GHz. 40 canaux espacés de 2 MHz sont alloués au BLE pour permettre aux appareils de communiquer.

Le BLE dispose de différents types de connexions et n’importe quel objet connecté en BLE peut avoir jusqu’à 4 fonctions différentes :

  • Le broadcaster : il a pour rôle de transmettre régulièrement des données à un appareil, mais il n’accepte aucune connexion entrante. Il peut faire office de serveur.
  • L’observer : dans ce contexte, l’objet peut seulement écouter et interpréter les données envoyées par un «broadcaster ». Il ne peut pas envoyer de connexion vers le serveur.
  • Le central : l’appareil reçoit et traite les fichiers transmis par un Broadcaster.
  • Le peripheral : Il prend en charge les connexions du central, avant de lui transférer des fichiers.
Fonctionnement Bluetooth Low Energy

Vous avez un projet IoT ?

Nos experts vous accompagnent et vous conseillent dans le choix de vos capteurs et beacons Bluetooth.

Vous avez un projet IoT ?

Nos experts vous accompagnent et vous conseillent dans le choix de vos capteurs et beacons Bluetooth.

De quoi se compose une infrastructure réseau en BLE ?

Une infrastructure réseau en BLE va s’appuyer sur un ensemble de beacons et/ou de capteurs Bluetooth, sur une passerelle (access point, smartphone, PC, tracker,…), sur un back-end (serveur/cloud) et sur une application métier.

Mockup-gateway-PC

Les objets connectés vont émettre à intervalle régulier pour envoyer leur numéro identifiant et/ou leurs données capteurs. La passerelle BLE va scanner et écouter en continue son environnement et détecter les beacons et capteurs IoT présents dans son périmètre. Elle va collecter les informations et les transférer vers le serveur/cloud du client soit en Ethernet, en wifi ou en 4G. Sur le back-end les données brutes vont être stockées, traitées et analysées.

Une fois les données déchiffrées, elles vont être visualisables sur l’application métier sous forme d’historique, de graphique ou encore de plan. Des commandes peuvent également être envoyées aux beacons et capteurs depuis l’application métier telle que la fonctionnalité LED ON/OFF.

Quelle est la portée du BLE ?

La portée du signal Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) est l’une des caractéristiques clés de cette technologie de communication sans fil. La portée détermine la distance maximale sur laquelle un périphérique BLE peut établir une connexion et communiquer avec un autre appareil, tel qu’un smartphone, un capteur ou un accessoire. Voici quelques points importants à comprendre concernant la portée du signal BLE :

Portée typique

La portée du signal BLE varie en fonction de plusieurs facteurs, notamment la classe de puissance du périphérique, l’environnement, les obstacles et les interférences radio. Cependant, en général, la portée typique du BLE se situe entre 10 et 100 mètres. À courte distance, la portée peut être très courte (quelques mètres), tandis qu’à longue distance, elle peut atteindre 100 mètres ou plus.

Classes de puissances

Les dispositifs BLE sont généralement classés en trois catégories de puissance : Classe 1, Classe 2 et Classe 3. La Classe 1 offre la portée maximale, pouvant atteindre plus de 100 mètres. La Classe 2 est courante pour les périphériques BLE tels que les smartphones, offrant une portée typique d‘environ 10 mètres. La Classe 3 est rare et offre une portée limitée à quelques mètres.

Environnement et obstacles

L’environnement a un impact significatif sur la portée du BLE. Les obstacles physiques, tels que les murs, les meubles et les éléments métalliques, peuvent atténuer le signal et réduire la portée. Les environnements extérieurs ouverts permettent généralement une portée plus grande que les environnements intérieurs encombrés.

Interférences radio

Les interférences provenant d’autres appareils sans fil ou des réseaux Wi-Fi peuvent perturber la portée du BLE. Dans des environnements où de nombreuses sources de signaux sans fil coexistent, la portée peut être affectée.

Mise en œuvre spécifique

La portée réelle peut varier en fonction de la manière dont le BLE est mis en œuvre dans un appareil particulier. Certains fabricants intègrent des antennes plus performantes pour augmenter la portée, tandis que d’autres peuvent privilégier une faible consommation d’énergie aux dépens de la portée.

Applications

La portée du BLE est adaptée à de nombreuses applications IoT, notamment la surveillance personnelle, les capteurs de proximité, les dispositifs de suivi d’objets, les appareils portables, les systèmes de verrouillage sans clé, et bien d’autres.

Différence entre Bluetooth Low Energy et Bluetooth classique ?

Le Bluetooth basse consommation (BLE) est une variante du Bluetooth Classique intégrée aux normes depuis la version v4.0 publiée en 2010. Ces deux protocoles de communication sans fil partagent la même origine, mais leurs caractéristiques, leurs fonctionnalités et leurs domaines d’application sont très différents.

Consommation d'énergie

En raison de sa consommation d’énergie plus élevée, le Bluetooth classique est couramment utilisé sur des dispositifs alimentés par une source d’énergie constante, tels que des prises électriques ou des batteries plus grosses.

Le Bluetooth Low Energy, comme son nom l’indique est conçu pour être peu énergivore. Il est idéal pour les applications nécessitant une longue durée de vie de la batterie, telles que les capteurs, les dispositifs de suivi et les appareils portables.

Latence

Le Bluetooth classique est conçu pour des transferts de données à haut débit. Il est idéal pour la transmission de fichiers volumineux, comme la musique en streaming et la voix de haute qualité. Cependant, cela entraîne une consommation d’énergie plus élevée.

Le BLE est destiné à des transferts de données de petite taille, mais il est efficace pour envoyer des données périodiquement ou en réponse à des événements. Cela en fait un choix idéal pour la surveillance et le contrôle à faible débit.

Taux de transfert de données

Le BLE prend en charge des connexions intermittentes, où les dispositifs se réveillent, échangent des données et passent en mode veille pour économiser de l’énergie. Cette approche est idéale pour les appareils qui n’ont pas besoin d’une connexion constante.

Le Bluetooth classique est quant à lui, souvent utilisé pour des connexions en continu, comme la diffusion audio sans fil à partir d’un smartphone vers des écouteurs ou un haut-parleur. Il est bien adapté aux applications nécessitant une transmission constante de données.

Portée

De manière générale le protocole Bluetooth est une technologie sans fil de proximité. Le Bluetooth classique offre une portée limitée à quelques mètres (10 à 15m max). Le Bluetooth Low Energy, quant à lui, offre une portée un peu plus longue, permettant d’aller jusqu’à quelques centaines de mètres en champ libre.

Dans tous les cas, l’environnement dans lequel sont utilisés les beacons et capteurs Bluetooth va avoir un fort impact sur la portée. En effet, leur performance va être dégradée par des obstacles tels que des murs ou des poutres métalliques.

En résumé, la principale différence réside dans la consommation d’énergie et les applications cibles. Le Bluetooth classique est adapté aux applications nécessitant une transmission de données continue à haut débit, tandis que le BLE est conçu pour des applications à faible consommation d’énergie et à transfert de données sporadiques. Le choix entre les deux dépend de vos besoins spécifiques en matière de communication sans fil.

Quelles technologies alternatives au BLE ?

Wirepas_Vertical_Black_PNG

BLE vs Wirepas Mesh

La technologie Wirepas utilise un réseau maillé, où chaque dispositif connecté peut servir de relais pour les données, créant ainsi un réseau auto-organisé et résilient. Cela permet une grande flexibilité dans la configuration du réseau. Mais à la différence du BLE, le Wirepas n’est pas standardisé et ouvert, il se concentre principalement sur la connectivité locale, ce qui signifie qu’il est adapté aux applications nécessitant des communications à courte portée dans des environnements spécifiques. Pour des applications comme du tracking indoor de personnes ou d’outils, la technologie Wirepas va offrir une meilleure précision et une réactivité plus élevée qu’en BLE.

Logo Techno_Quuppa

BLE vs Quuppa

La technologie Quuppa se base sur une infrastructure composée d’antennes 360° filaires fixées en hauteur et de balises de localisation appelées « tags » embarqués sur les objets ou les personnes à loaliser. La principale différence entre le BLE et la technologie Quuppa réside dans la méthode de calcul de la position. Quuppa se base sur la méthode AoA (Angle of Arrival), offrant une localisation en temps réel (RTLS) d’une extrême précision (<1m), alors que le BLE se base sur la force du signal RSSI permettant de localiser à quelques mètres près. L’infrastructure réseau nécessaire pour obtenir un tel niveau de précision avec la technologie Quuppa, peut cependant entraîner un coût d’acquisition plus élevé qu’en BLE. Le choix entre les deux technologies dépendra des besoins spécifiques de l’application et des niveaux de précision requis.

Logo Wifi

BLE vs Wi-Fi

Le choix entre le BLE et le Wi-Fi dans le domaine de l’IoT dépend des besoins spécifiques de l’application. Le BLE est idéal pour les appareils à faible consommation d’énergie à courte portée, tandis que le Wi-Fi convient mieux aux applications nécessitant des débits de données plus élevés sur une plus grande distance. Il est également possible d’utiliser ces deux technologies de manière complémentaire pour répondre aux exigences spécifiques d’un projet IoT. En effet, la technologie Bluetooth Low Energy est interopérable avec les réseaux Wi-Fi existant facilitant grandement son intégration notamment pour les applications de smart-building.

Boostez votre
projet de géolocalisation !

Plongez dans le monde des technologies de localisation : BLE, Wirepas et Quuppa. Optimisez vos processus & prises de décision

brochure-géolocalisation-indoor-outdoor-ELA-Innovation

Boost your
telematics project

Discover how to monitor, track and secure vehicle fleets using Bluetooth sensors and beacons.

brochure transport et télématique mockup

ELA Innovation • Tous droits réservés

Contactez-nous directement en utilisant le formulaire ou cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous pour faire une demande de devis :