Bluetooth Advanced Features

Want to customize the firmware of your fleet of Bluetooth beacons and sensors? Discover our premium Bluetooth Advanced Features service, which will allow you to configure 100% of the frames according to your needs and much more.

Benefits

With the Bluetooth Advanced Features option, you will accelerate the deployment of your business solution and ensure customer satisfaction.

Operation

The Bluetooth Advanced Features option is a premium service requiring the creation of a custom frame configuration. This configuration is done at the factory.

Compatibility

All ELA Innovation products in the Bluetooth Low Energy range are compatible with the Bluetooth Advanced Features option.

What are the new features?

The Bluetooth Advanced Features option is a 100% customized premium service. The new functionalities integrated in this offer will allow you to precisely meet the business needs of your customers.

The Bluetooth Advanced Features service allows you to fully configure the frame of our beacons and Bluetooth sensors from byte 1 to 31. You will be able to create 2 distinct conditional byte blocks whose content can change depending on sensor values or internal variables.

This feature will allow you for example to configure your devices according to the Eddystone TLM format which alternates an Eddystone ID frame and an Eddystone frame with a sensor data. It also works with the iBeacon format, but also with the frame format compatible with the Geotab trackers and all the so-called “proprietary” formats.

The SCAN Response format is also configurable. You will be able to display the battery voltage of your devices in it.

Thanks to the Smart Mode, you will have the possibility to modify automatically and in real time the different periods of operation of a device according to the sensor data: advertising period, sensor measurement period, datalogger recording period. For each period, you can define 2 values, a nominal period and a fast period. These periods will change automatically when the defined threshold is crossed or when the nominal operating range is exceeded.

For example, to ensure the traceability of the cold chain during transport, you use a temperature sensor whose nominal operating range is between -35°C and -20°C. You can define the following rule: if the measured value is within the nominal range, the sensor will emit every 1min and if the value is outside this range, the sensor will emit every 1sec. Thus, the driver can be alerted in real time of any abnormal operation while minimizing the data traffic transmitted to your information system.

This advanced “Over-the-Air” OTA update option allows to update the firmware of Bluetooth beacons and sensors remotely while keeping the device settings. This can be very useful when managing a fleet of beacons and Bluetooth sensors located on different sites.

By choosing the Bluetooth Advanced Features service, you will be able to set the advertising period up to 86 400sec. Our R&D team has developed a Bluetooth communication system that guarantees the connectivity of a beacon regardless of its advertising period.

For example, if you want to measure a slowly changing value, such as the temperature of a room, you can choose to transmit the temperature value only every 2 minutes. This will reduce the data traffic on your network and increase the battery life of the BLE sensor.

With this advanced firmware version, “standard” log records are made in absolute time using clock synchronization. It will also be possible to partially download your datalogger by indicating the indexes or the start and end timestamps of the data to download. It will also be possible to download the most recent data first thanks to the reverse download.

For example, when a sensor equips a refrigerated trailer that has been stored for 24 hours, the tractor coming to pick up this trailer will be able to download the data of the last 24 hours instead of the complete memory of the datalogger, thus reducing the download time to less than 10 seconds instead of several minutes for a complete download.

Ressources

diiference bluetooth bluetooth Low energy

Difference between Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy

In this article, discover the difference between Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), the advantages and disadvantages of each of these variants, but also how they work…

BLE-behavior-environments

What is the range of the BLE according to its environment?

Like any wireless communication technology, BLE will behave differently depending on the environment in which it is used. In this article, we analyze its behavior in 4 different environments…

Qu'est-ce qu'une Gateway BLE

What is a BLE Gateway? How does it work?

A BLE Gateway is a communication portal between Bluetooth devices and the Cloud/client server, comparable in principle to an Internet router. In this article discover its technical functioning…

Bluetooth Advanced Features

Vous souhaitez personnaliser le firmware de votre flotte de beacons et capteurs Bluetooth ? Découvrez notre service premium Bluetooth Advanced Features, qui vous permettra de configurer à 100% les trames selon vos besoins et bien plus encore.

Bénéfices

Grâce à l’option Bluetooth Advanced Features, vous allez accélérer le déploient de votre solution métier et garantir la satisfaction de vos clients.

Fonctionnement

L’option Bluetooth Advanced Features est un service premium nécessitant la création d’une configuration sur-mesure des trames. Cette configuration est réalisée en usine.

Compatibilité

Tous les produits ELA Innovation de la gamme Bluetooth Low Energy sont compatibles avec l’option Bluetooth Advanced Features.

Quelles sont les nouvelles fonctionnalités ?

L’option Bluetooth Advanced Features est un service premium 100% personnalisé. Les nouvelles fonctionnalités intégrées à cette offre vous permettront de répondre avec précision aux besoins métiers de vos clients.

Le service Bluetooth Advanced Features vous permet de configurer totalement la trames de nos beacons et capteurs Bluetooth de l’octet 1 à 31. Vous aurez la possibilité de créer 2 blocs d’octets distincts conditionnels dont le contenu peut changer en fonction de valeurs de capteur ou de variables internes.

Cette fonctionnalité, vous permettra par exemple de configurer vos devices selon le format Eddystone TLM qui alterne une trame Eddystone ID et une trame Eddystone avec une donnée capteur. Cela fonctionne également avec le format iBeacon, mais également avec le format de trame compatible avec les traqueurs de la marque Geotab ainsi que tous les formats dits « propriétaires ».

Le format de SCAN Response sera lui aussi paramétrable. Vous pourrez ainsi faire apparaître la tension de la batterie de vos devices dans celle-ci.

Grâce au Smart Mode (mode intelligent), vous aurez la possibilité de modifier automatiquement et en temps réel les différentes périodes de fonctionnement d’un device en fonction de la donnée capteur : période d’advertising, période de mesure capteur, période d’enregistrement de datalogger. Pour chaque période, vous pourrez définir 2 valeurs, une période nominale et une période rapide. Ces périodes changeront automatiquement lorsque le seuil défini sera franchi ou lors de la sortie de la plage de fonctionnement nominale.

Par exemple, pour assurer la traçabilité de la chaîne du froid lors du transport, vous utilisez un capteur de température dont la plage de fonctionnement nominale est comprise entre -35°C et -20°C. Vous pouvez définir la règle suivante :  si la valeur mesurée est dans la plage nominale, le capteur émettra toutes les 1min et si la valeur est en dehors cette plage, le capteur émettra toutes les 1sec. Ainsi, le chauffeur peut-être alerté en temps réel de tout fonctionnement anormal tout en minimisant le trafic de données transmises à votre système d’informations.

Cette option avancée de mise à jour OTA « Over-the-Air » permet de mettre à jour le firmware des beacons et capteurs Bluetooth à distance tout en conservant les paramètres des devices. Cela peut-être très utile dans la gestion d’une flotte de beacons et capteurs Bluetooth implantés sur différents sites.

En choisissant le service Bluetooth Advanced Features, vous pourrez paramétrer la période d’advertising jusqu’à 86 400sec. Notre équipe R&D a développé un système de communication Bluetooth garantissant la connectivité d’un beacon quelque soit sa période d’advertising.

Par exemple, pour mesurer une donnée dont la valeur varie lentement, comme la température d’une pièce, vous pouvez choisir de transmettre la valeur de température toutes les 2 minutes uniquement. Ainsi,  cela permettra de réduire le trafic des données qui transitent sur votre réseau et d’augmenter la durée de vie de la batterie du capteur BLE.

Avec cette version de firmware avancée, les enregistrements des log « standards » se font en temps absolus en faisant appel à une synchronisation d’horloge. Il vous sera également possible de télécharger partiellement votre datalogger en indiquant les index ou les horodatages de début et de fin des données à télécharger. Il sera également possible de télécharger en premier les données les plus récentes grâce au téléchargement inversé.

Par exemple lorsqu’un capteur équipe une remorque frigorifique qui a été stockée pendant 24H, le tracteur venant chercher cette remorque pourra se limiter à télécharger les données des dernières 24H au lieu de la mémoire complète du datalogger, réduisant ainsi le temps de téléchargement à moins de 10s au lieu de plusieurs minutes pour un téléchargement complet.

Ressources

difference bluetooth bluetooth Low energy

Différence entre Bluetooth et Bluetooth Low Energy

Dans cet article, découvrez plus en détails la différence entre Bluetooth et Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), les avantages et inconvénients de chacune de ces variantes, mais également leur mode de fonctionnement…

BLE-comportement-environnements

Quelle est la portée du BLE en fonction de son environnent ?

Comme toute technologie de communication sans fil, le BLE va se comporter de façon différente selon l’environnement dans lequel il est utilisé. Dans cet article, nous analysons son comportement dans 4 environnements différents…

Qu'est-ce qu'une Gateway BLE

Qu'est-ce qu'une Gateway BLE ? Comment ça fonctionne ?

Une Gateway BLE est un portail de communication entre les devices Bluetooth et le Cloud/le serveur client, comparable sur le principe, à un routeur internet. Dans cet article découvrez son fonctionnement technique…