Bluetooth Beacon

You want to integrate industrial Bluetooth Beacons to your IoT solution? Discover our large range of bluetooth beacons!

What is bluetooth beacon?

A bluetooth beacon is a very small object, a small physical box, beloning to the large family of connected object known as Internet Of Things (IoT for short). This beacon is a transmitter that uses Bluetooth wireless communication technology.In the case of industrial beacons, the technology used is often Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).

A beacon is composed of a case of a few centimeters in diameter, containing a battery and an electronic board on which we find among others a microcontroller, a radio module, an antenna and various sensors.

Technically speaking, the Bluetooth Beacon emits at a regular frequency and at a certain power signals (RSSI), defined as radio waves that can be read by devIces wIth bluetooth connectivity such as smartphone, a tabket or a ble gatewat that most often acts as a scanner.

The beacon bluetooth will transmit data thanks to those radio waves. But, unlike “consumer” Bluetooth devices such as speakers, headphones or connected watches, the main function of a beacon is the transfer of small data. Indeed, beacons will be able to transmit data such as an ID number or a battery level, but they will not be able to transmit music or images.

beacons---bluetooth---range

Did you know?

What is the meaning of "Bluetooth Low Energy"?

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) or Bluetooth smart, is a variant of Bluetooth known as “classic”. This wireless communication protocol operates on the 2.4GHz radio frequency. But, really, what is the difference between these two versions?

The main difference between Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy is the low energy consumption of the latter, due among other things to the amount of data transmitted. This technical specificity makes it possible to considerably extend the autonomy of connected objects by reducing their activity time.

Because of its operation mode, Bluetooth Low Energy seems to be more adapted to industrial uses. Indeed, the majority of industrial use cases do not require too high a recurrence of transmission, nor the transmission of a large amount of information. Therefore, Bluetooth Low Energy will be perfectly adapted for the transmission of data such as temperature, luminosity, a movement threshold, an identifier or a time.

In addition, unlike traditional Bluetooth, BLE does not require a master/slave pairing to operate, making it easier to use on a large scale.

What does a beacon do?

Democratized since 2013, the Bluetooth beacon is a fast-growing market driven by the digitalization of companies’ industrial processes.

Initially, this connected beacon was mainly used in the retail sector, allowing retailers to push promotional content to consumers in the form of push notifications. Its use has quickly spread to more industrial fields by integrating with the development of Industry 4.0.

Automation of low value-added tasks, predictive data analysis, operations management, are major challenges for industrial companies seeking to optimize their performance.

The Bluetooth beacon is ideal to accompany companies in this digitalization. This wireless beacon allows for automatic identification and tracking of equipment and spare parts. This beacon can also be used for hands-free access control to secure buildings.

 

inventory picto
asset-tracking picto
identification-automatic picto

Automatic inventory

spare parts, stock of goods, etc.

Asset tracking

logistics equipment, medical equipment, tools, etc.

Access control system

of people and vehicles

bluetooth-beacon-operating

How do bluetooth beacons work?

In practice, to function, a Bluetooth beacon is integrated into a network infrastructure consisting of a transmitter (the beacon), a Bluetooth receiver (smartphone, tablet, PC, gateway, etc.), a back-end and an application.

When a Bluetooth beacon enters the detection zone of a receiver, it will be detected by it. The beacon will then emit data (in hexadecimal) composing a frame. This raw data will then be interpreted by a back-end or other element of a software solution, and retranscribed to the business application in the form of dashboards or location points.

This will allow to trigger actions, such as sending notifications or alerts that will be received by the user via the cloud/server of the company.

Which ELA Innovation's Bluetooth Low Energy beacons to choose?

As a manufacturer of industrial Bluetooth beacons, ELA Innovation offers a wide range of beacons of different shapes to cover many applications. Recognized for their robustness and high autonomy, ELA Innovation’s identification beacons are perfectly adapted to harsh environments such as construction sites, industrial sites or even logistics and transportation.

Which Bluetooth Beacon is right for your project?

ultra thin beacon bluetooth low energy
very small Beacon bluetooth for identification
identification inventory small equipment beacon

3 years battery life

Ultra thin – 2.4mm thick

Up to 300m

Waterproof IP55

5 years battery life – Replaceable battery

Ultra compact – 4.5 x 2.3 x 0.5 cm

Pick-to-Light function – Integrated LED

Up to 300m

Waterproof IP65

5 years of autonomy

Pick-to-Light function – integrated LED

Up to 300m

IP68

identification beacon bluetooth low energy
beacon bluetooth for product identification front view
BLE beacon for identification tracking of people
5 years battery life Pick-to-Light function – integrated LED Up to 300m Waterproof IP68

20 years battery life

Ultra rugged

Pick-to-Light function – integrated LED

Up to 500m

Waterproof IP68

18 years battery life

Ultra rugged

Pick-to-Light function – integrated LED

Up to 500m

Waterproof IP68

How to set up our Bluetooth Beacons?

ELA Innovation has developped a large variety of accessories, making the installation and use of their beacons ultra simple and fast. The different fastening systems are secured for industrial use without the risk of the beacon becoming detached.

For the PUCK and COIN format products, there are multiple way to fix them with the PUCK Holder Sticker and COIN Holder Sticker respectively.

These accessories are composed of a beacon support, high performance double-sided adhesive, a locker and a TORX security screw.The locker and the screw allow to secure the beacon in its holder. This is particularly suitable for use that may generate shocks or vibrations.

With their multi-fixing system, the PUCK and COIN can be installed in 3 different ways on many materials (concrete, wood, plastic, metal, etc.):

  • Glued with double-sided adhesive
  • Screwed with 2 screws
  • Attached with a nylon clamp

The LITE and SLIM cases can be glued to smooth surfaces with their industrial double-sided adhesive for indoor use. They can also be attached in key ring format.

The AERO format case can be fixed in 3 differents ways :

  • Glued with double-sided adhesive
  • Screwed with 2 screws
  • Attached with a nylon clamp

To go further...

What frequency does a Bluetooth beacon transmit at?

A bluetooth beacon transmist at regular intervals in order ot be detected by receivers (scanners) in the vicinity. This transmission interval is measured in utis of time and ranges from 20 milliseconds to 10.24 seconds. This interval can be configured according to the needs.

For instance, to use a Bluetooth Beacon from ELA Innovation in “connected” mode and to be able to send it a command such as “turn on the LED” or to configure it, it is recommended to have a fast interval espcially if the density of beacons in the vicinity is high. Indeed, the time out of the BLE scanner is 3 seconds, if in this time, the scanner has managed to detect and connect to the beacon it targets, it may abandon its search or take several minutes before it manages to connect to it.

Nevertheless, the frequency of emission of a beacon will play on the autonomy of the latter. Indeed, the shorter the intervals, the more energy the beacon will consume to transmit. It is therefore important to choose the most appropriate interval according to the need, in order to optimize the life of its battery.

Some beacons are equipped with a 3-axis accelerometer allowing to vary the emission frequency according to the beacon’s state: higher emission rate if the beacon is moving and slower rate if the beacon is stationary.

What is the range of a Bluetooth beacon?

The transmission range of a beacon is the distance up to which the beacon signal can be picked up by nearby Bluetooth scanners. In general, BLE technology offers a higher transmission range than RFID or NFC technology. However, this distance may vary depending on the environment in which the beacon is located. Indeed, in free field (i.e. outside without obstacle) the range of a Bluetooth Low Energy beacon can reach several hundred meters. In an industrial environment often containing many metal objects, the reflection of radio waves can reduce the transmission range to a hundred meters.

It is important to note that several factors can play on the range of a BLE beacon in addition to its environment. The strength of the RSSI signal of the beacon and the reception rate will contribute to the good transmission of data. Hence the importance of choosing a beacon adapted to the uses and needs.

Want to try it?

To help you project yourself into different worlds, the Bluetooth SIG provides a range calculator.

Frame formats: iBeacon and Eddystone, what's the difference?

Defined by the Bluetooth SIG (the consortium behind Bluetooth), the Bluetooth Low Energy frame is a sequence of hexadecimal values of 31 bytes in which we find different data such as the beacon’s identification number (UUID), the sensor data, its battery level or the strength of the RSSI signal.

Apple, Google and many beacon manufacturers such as ELA Innovation, have developed their own Bluetooth Low Energy frame format from this base.

The frame format standardized by Apple released in 2013, known as iBeacon allows for easy integration of BLE beacons into iOS applications. The iBeacon frame transmits 3 pieces of information to identify the beacon: a general identifier called UUID (16 bytes long), an identifier corresponding to the group of beacons (sign location) called “major” and finally the beacon’s own identifier called “minor” to differentiate it from other transmitters nearby.

The Eddystone format released two years later and created by Google, is an open-souce protocol to facilitate the development of mobile applications. The particularity of the Eddystone format is the possibility to transmit a URL directly to a device, without having to create a mobile application, which simplifies even more its use.

Although the iBeacon format was initially developed for iOs smartphones and the Eddystone format for Android smartphones, both protocols are now cross-platform.

Blog posts

Beacon Bluetooth

Vous souhaitez intégrer des Beacons Bluetooth industriels à vos solutions IoT ? Découvrez la large gamme de balises d’ELA Innovation.

Qu'est ce qu'un beacon bluetooth ?

Un beacon Bluetooth (« balise » en français) est un petit boîtier physique appartenant à la grande famille des objets connectés, en anglais, Internet Of Things (IoT). Cette balise est un émetteur fonctionnant grâce à la technologie de communication sans fil Bluetooth. Dans le cas de beacons industriels la technologie utilisée est souvent le Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).

Un beacon est composé d’un boîtier de quelques centimètres de diamètre contenant une batterie ainsi qu’une carte électronique sur laquelle nous retrouvons entre autres un microcontrôleur, un module radio, une antenne et différents capteurs.

D’un point de vu technique, le beacon Bluetooth émet à une fréquence régulière et à une certaine puissance des signaux (RSSI), définis comme des ondes radios qui peuvent être lues par des appareils ayant une connectivité Bluetooth tels qu’un smartphone, une tablette ou une passerelle BLE qui fait le plus souvent office de scanner.

Ces ondes radios vont permettre aux beacons de transmettre des données. Mais, à la différence des périphériques Bluetooth « grand public » tels que des enceintes, des écouteurs ou des montres connectées, la fonction principale d’un beacon est le transfert de petites données. En effet, les beacons vont pouvoir transmettre des données comme un numéro identifiant ou une niveau de batterie, mais ils ne pourront pas transmettre de musiques ou d’images.

Le saviez-vous ?

Pourquoi parle-t-on de "Bluetooth Low Energy" ?

Le Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) ou Bluetooth smart, est une variante du Bluetooth dit « classique ». Ce protocole de communication sans fil fonctionne sur la fréquence radio 2,4GHz. Mais concrètement qu’elle est la différence entre ces deux versions ?

La principale différence entre Bluetooth et Bluetooth Low Energy est la faible consommation d’énergie de ce dernier, due entre autres, à la quantité de données transmises. Cette spécificité technique permet notamment d’allonger considérablement l’autonomie des objets connectés en réduisant leur temps d’activité.

De par son fonctionnement, le Bluetooth Low Energy semble être plus adapté aux usages industriels. En effet, la majorité des cas d’utilisation industriels ne nécessitent pas une récurrence d’émission trop élevée, ni la transmission d’un grand nombre d’informations. De ce fait, le Bluetooth Low Energy va être parfaitement adapté pour la transmission de données comme la température, la luminosité, un seuil de mouvement, un identifiant ou encore une heure.

De plus, à la différence du Bluetooth classique, le BLE ne nécessite pas d’appairage de type maître/esclave pour fonctionner facilitant considérablement son usage à grande échelle.

A quoi sert un beacon Bluetooth ?

Démocratisé à partir de 2013, le beacon Bluetooth est un marché en forte croissance porté par la digitalisation des processus industriels des entreprises.

Au départ, cette balise connectée était majoritairement utilisée dans le domaine du retail permettant aux enseignes de pousser aux consommateurs du contenu promotionnel sous forme de notification push. Son utilisation s’est rapidement étendue aux domaines plus industriels en s’intégrant aux développement de l’industrie 4.0.

Automatisation des tâches à faible valeur ajoutée, analyse prédictive des données, gestion des opérations, sont des enjeux de taille pour les entreprises industrielles à la recherche d’optimisation de leurs performances.

Le beacon Bluetooth est idéal pour accompagner les entreprises dans cette digitalisation. Cette balise sans fil permet entre autres de faire de l’identification automatique et du tracking d’équipements et de pièces détachées. Cette balise peut également être utilisée pour du contrôle d’accès « main libre » permettant de sécuriser des bâtiments.

inventaire picto
asset-tracking picto
identification-automatique picto

Inventaire automatique

pièces détachées, stocks de marchandises, etc.

Tracking d’équipements

engins logistiques, équipements médicaux, outils, etc.

Contrôle d’accès

des personnes et des véhicules

Comment fonctionne un Beacon Bluetooth ?

Dans la pratique, pour fonctionner, un beacon Bluetooth s’intègre dans une infrastructure réseau composée d’un émetteur (le beacon), d’un récepteur Bluetooth (Smartphone, tablette, PC, passerelle, etc.), d’un back-end et d’une application.

Lorsqu’un beacon Bluetooth entre dans la zone de détection d’un récepteur, il va être détecté par celui-ci. Le beacon va alors émettre des données (en hexadécimal) composant une trame. Ces données brutes vont ensuite être interprétées par un back-end ou autre élément d’une solution logicielle, et retranscrites sur l’application métier sous forme de tableaux de bord ou encore de point de localisation.

Cela va permettre de déclencher des actions, comme l’envoi de notifications ou d’alertes qui vont être reçues par l’utilisateur via le cloud/serveur de l’entreprise.

Quels Beacons Bluetooth Low Energy ELA Innovation choisir ?

En tant que fabricant de beacons Bluetooth industriels ELA Innovation propose une large gamme de balises de différentes formes permettant de couvrir de nombreux cas d’application. Reconnus pour leur robustesse et leur très forte autonomie, les balises d’identifications ELA Innovation sont parfaitement adaptées pour les environnements sévères tels que les chantiers de construction, les sites industriels ou encore les domaines de la logistique et du transport.

Comparatif Beacons Bluetooth industriels d’ELA Innovation

BLUE SLIM ID - beacon bluetooth ultra fin
Blue LITE ID - Beacon bluetooth
Aero-ID - beacon identifiant

3 ans d’autonomie

Ultra fin – 2,4mm d’épaisseur

Jusqu’à 300m

Étanche IP55

 

5 ans d’autonomie – Pile remplaçable

Ultra compact – 4,5 x 2,3 x 0,5 cm

Fonction Pick-to-Light – LED intégrée

Jusqu’à 300m

Étanche IP65

5 ans d’autonomie

Fonction Pick-to-Light – LED intégrée

Jusqu’à 300m

IP68

 

Blue COIN ID - Beacon bluetooth industriel
Blue PUCK ID - Beacon Bluetooth Industriel
BLUE PUCK BUZZ

5 ans d’autonomie

Fonction Pick-to-Light – LED intégrée

Jusqu’à 300m

Étanche IP68

20 ans d’autonomie

Ultra robuste

Fonction Pick-to-Light – LED intégrée

Jusqu’à 500m

Étanche IP68

18 ans d’autonomie

Ultra robuste

Fonction Pick-to-Light – LED & BUZZER intégrés

Jusqu’à 500m

Étanche IP68

Comment installer les Beacons Bluetooth ELA Innovation ?

Grâce à la gamme d’accessoires développée par ELA Innovation, l‘installation et l’utilisation des beacons est ultra simple et rapide. Les différents systèmes de fixation sont sécurisés pour des usages industriels sans risque que la balise ne se détache.

Pour les produits au format PUCK et COIN, il existe des supports multi-fixation appelés respectivement PUCK Holder Sticker et COIN Holder Sticker.

Ces accessoires sont composés d’un support de beacon, d’un adhésif double-face haute performance, d’un locker et d’une vis de sécurité à empreinte TORX. Le locker et la vis permettent de sécuriser le beacon dans son support. Cela est particulièrement adapté pour une utilisation pouvant engendrer des chocs ou des vibrations.

Grâce à leur système multi-fixation, les PUCK et COIN peuvent être installés de 3 façons différentes sur de nombreuses matières (béton, bois, plastique, métal, etc.) :

  • Collés grâce à l’adhésif double-face
  • Vissés par 2 vis
  • Attachés par collier de serrage en nylon

Les boîtiers LITE et SLIM peuvent être collés sur des surfaces lisses grâce à leur adhésif industriel double-face, pour une utilisation en intérieur. Ils peuvent également être attachés en format porte-clés.

Le boîtier format AERO peut être fixé de 3 façons différentes :

  • Collé grâce à l’adhésif double-face
  • Vissé par 2 vis
  • Attachés par collier de serrage en nylon

Pour aller plus loin...

A quelle fréquence émet un beacon Bluetooth ?

Une balise Bluetooth émet à intervalles réguliers, afin d’être détectée par les récepteurs (scanner) à proximité. Cet intervalle d’émission se mesure en unité de temps et est compris entre 20 millisecondes et 10,24 secondes. Cet intervalle peut être configurable en fonction des besoins.

Par exemple, pour utiliser un beacon Bluetooth ELA Innovation en mode « connecté » et pouvoir lui envoyer une commande comme « allumer la LED » ou encore le configurer, il est recommandé d’avoir un intervalle rapide, surtout si la densité de beacons à proximité est forte. En effet, le time out des scanner BLE étant de 3 secondes, si dans ce laps de temps, le scanner n’a pas réussi à détecter et à se connecter au beacon qu’il cible, il risque d’abandonner sa recherche ou de mettre plusieurs minutes avant d’arriver à se connecter à celui-ci.

Néanmoins, la fréquence d’émission d’un beacon va jouer sur l’autonomie de ce dernier. En effet, plus les intervalles sont courts, plus la balise va consommer de l’énergie pour émettre. Il est donc important de choisir l’intervalle le plus adéquat en fonction du besoin, afin d’optimiser la durée de vie de sa batterie.

Certains beacons sont équipés d’accéléromètre 3 axes permettant de faire varier la fréquence d’émission en fonction de l’état du beacon : cadence d’émission plus élevée si le beacon est en mouvement et cadence plus lente si la balise est immobile.

Quelle est la portée d’un beacon Bluetooth ?

La portée d’émission d’un beacon correspond à la distance jusqu’à laquelle le signal de la balise va pouvoir être capté par les scanners Bluetooth à proximité. De façon générale la technologie BLE offre une distance d’émission plus élevée que les technologie RFID ou NFC. Néanmoins, cette distance peut varier en fonction de l’environnement dans lequel se trouve le beacon. En effet, en champ libre (i.e en extérieur sans obstacle) la portée d’un beacon Bluetooth Low Energy peut atteindre plusieurs centaines de mètres. Dans un environnement industriel contenant souvent de nombreux objets métalliques la réflexion des ondes radio peut réduire la portée d’émission à une centaine de mètres.

Il est important de noter que plusieurs facteurs peuvent jouer sur la portée d’une balise BLE en plus de son environnement. La force du signal RSSI de la balise et le taux de réception vont contribuer à la bonne transmission des données. D’où l’importance de choisir un beacon adapté aux usages et aux besoins.

Envie de tester ?

Pour vous aider à vous projeter dans différent univers, le SIG Bluetooth met à disposition un calculateur de portée.

Formats de trame : iBeacon et Eddystone, quelle différence ?

Définie par le SIG Bluetooth (le consortium à l’origine du Bluetooth), la trame Bluetooth Low Energy est une suite de valeurs hexadécimales de 31 octets dans laquelle on trouve différentes données telles que, le numéro identifiant du beacon (UUID), les donnés capteurs, son niveau de batterie ou encore la force du signal RSSI.

Apple, Google ainsi que de nombreux fabricants de beacon comme ELA Innovation, ont développé à partir de cette base, leur propre format de trame Bluetooth Low Energy.

Le format de trame standardisé par Apple sorti en 2013, connu sous le nom d’iBeacon permet de faciliter l’intégration de beacons BLE dans les applications iOS. La trame iBeacon transmet 3 informations permettant d’identifier le beacon : un identifiant général appelé UUID (d’une longueur de 16 octets), un identifiant correspondant au groupe de beacons (lieu d’enseigne) appelé « major » et pour finir l’identifiant propre au beacon appelé « minor » permettant de le différencier des autres émetteurs à proximité.

Le format Eddystone sorti deux ans plus tard et créé par Google, est quant à lui, un protocole Open-souce permettant de faciliter encore plus de développement d’applications mobiles. La particularité du format Eddystone est la possibilité de transmettre une URL directement à un appareil, sans avoir à créer d’application mobile, ce qui simplifie d’autant plus sont utilisation.

Bien qu’au départ, le format iBeacon eu était développé pour les smartphones sous iOs et le format Eddystone pour les smartphones Android, les deux protocoles sont aujourd’hui multi-plate-formes.

Articles de blog